Baked Cheesy Garlic Asparagus

Last week, I was debating buying asparagus from Whole Foods, as they were having a sale. The sale price was $2.99/lb, so I decided to wait a few more days to finish off the other greens in my fridge. On my way to walk Tucker, I decided to stop by Trader Joe’s to buy bananas, and lo and behold! Asparagus on sale for $1.99/lb! And since I had time this weekend, I decided to create a recipe with all of my favorite things: garlic, olive oil, cheese, zucchini, and asparagus.

Ingredients: salt, pepper, 2 cups of chopped asparagus, 1/4 cup of olive oil, 3-4 cloves of garlic, liberal amounts of any/all types of cheese you like, 1 teaspoon of onion powder (optional), and thinly sliced zucchini (optional).

Note on cheese: It would have been nice to have Parmesan cheese, as it adds more saltiness to the bland vegetables, but I always make do with what I have. I mixed left over fresh mozzarella and Wisconsin extra sharp cheddar.

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Finely chop the garlic and put it in a small, microwave-safe bowl. Pour olive oil over and add onion powder (optional). Microwave the mixture for 30 seconds (watch the microwave and the olive oil can burn and ruin the flavor).
  3. Sprinkle salt and pepper evenly on top of the asparagus and zucchini (optional – I had a bit of zucchini left over and decided to use it up). Put the vegetables on a baking pan and use a spoon to drizzle the warm olive oil mixture evenly over the vegetables.
  4. Bake for 10 minutes.
  5. Take out the pan and spread out the cheese on top of the vegetables. Bake again for 10 minutes (or until all the cheese melts).

Leave a comment