Georgetown Waterfront

One of the first spring days at the Georgetown Waterfront with Tucker.

Ok. I admit it now since it is no longer true at all. Frankly, I was afraid of Tucker when I met him on my shadow day. I’ve worked at an animal shelter, but my work mostly involved calling and writing letters to donors. So I never had to interact with big dogs by myself. My new boss warned me that Tucker was also a rescue and that he can be very skittish. I’ve gotten used to his leash now, but the contraption (as I thought of it then) was just as daunting. But Tucker soon won me over, and he actually is much sweeter than any small dog we ran into on the streets. He is one of the most well-behaved at the dog park, and he always turns to check on me during our runs, making sure that I am keeping up with him.

20160310_111730

A note for newbies on the leash: this is a no-tug leash. It does not hurt the dog. It simple restricts the dog’s body to make it feel uncomfortable when he is pulling too hard. This is actually better for dogs that tend to pull, as it can stop them without chocking them, which is what happens when dogs pull on a regular collar leash.

Leave a comment